Skip to:

DHL 2011 Aussies: NSW double in open ski race finals

NSW athletes have taken out both the men's and women's open single ski races at the DHL 2011 Aussies, with Manly's Naomi Flood and Avoca Beach's Lachlan Tame overcoming elite fields to win gold.

Flood powered to victory over star Ironwoman Elizabeth Pluimers and Terrigal's Joanna Baxter in glorious conditions at Kurrawa. Despite limited training in the surf, the Beijing Olympic hopeful proved she is still one of the top athletes in surf lifesaving.

In the men's final, Tame prospered from Olympic gold medallist Ken Wallace's withdrawal and Tate Smith's failure to qualifiy for the final, by racing home ahead of Brendon Sarson (Trigg Island) and defending champion Murray Stewart (Manly).

In the open board race finals, Northcliffe's Liz Pluimers won a frantic sprint to the line to win the open women's final from Alyce Bennett (North Burleigh) and four time champion Hayley Bateup from Kurrawa.

In the men's Metropolitan Caloundra’s Cory Jones won gold in his first ever Australian board race final just edging out Mooloolaba’s rising star Dane Windshuttle in a sprint finish with Poole salvaging a well deserved bronze medal.

The men's double ski went to Trigg Island pair Brendon Sarson and Rhys Baker while Northcliffe duo Bonnie Hancock and Kelly Jury took out the women's double ski final. 

The under 19 surf races saw promising Australian open water swimmer George O’Brien from Kurrawa take the gold medal to win his first Australian championship while in the women’s race the Michael Bohl coached still water swimmer Rebecca Pegg from Maroochydore out surfed Hannah Lemke from Cooks Hill and Pegg’s Maroochydore team mate and Australian open surf race winner Miranda Bell.

Find more information on the DHL 2011 Aussies here.