Surf Life Saving congratulates its members who competed on the World’s largest sporting stage

Surf Life Saving Australia would like to congratulate all the surf lifesaving members who competed at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The diversity of Surf Life Saving is reflected through the depth of the members we had compete in a variety of sports and who represented our organisation on the World’s largest sporting stage.

Surf Life Saving had 30 athletes across seven sports compete in the Tokyo Olympics from all around Australia. We are very proud to have so many members represent Australia and the SLS movement which is iconically Australian. We saw one gold and two bronze medals with the Australian Olympic team equalling its best ever performance since Athens 2004.

Check out how all our athletes faired over the two weeks at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. 


Beach Sprinter Oliver Hoare from North Cronulla SLSC in Sydney’s Shire secured a place in the final of the 1500M and placed 11th.

Gold Coast Beach sprinter Ellie Beer from Currumbin SLSC competed in the 4x400M women’s relay, but the team was knocked out in the first heat finishing seventh.

Canoe Sprint

 Surf Life Saving has always had a close affinity with kayaking and over the years many surf ski paddlers have ventured into kayaking and the Olympics.

Most notably this year, Gold Coast young gun Tom Green from Currumbin SLSC won Gold in the K2 1000M with teammate Jean van der Westhuyzen, securing the first Gold medal for Australia in the 85 year history of the event. Tom also competed in the K1 1000M and placed seventh in his first Olympic final.

Sunshine Coasters Aly Bull (Alexandra Headland SLSC) and Alyce Wood (Maroochydore SLSC) combined in the K2 500M and placed fifth in the final, with just over a second separating the top five placings. Both Wood and Bull competed in the individual K1 500M and placed 8th and 16th respectively.

The combinations of Riley Fitzsimmons and Jordan Wood in the K2 1000M and Jaime Roberts and Jo Bridgen Jones in the K2 500M saw the duos finish fifth in their B Finals, both walking away with 13th overall.

In the K4 500M we had two full kayaks of surf lifesavers, with the men’s combination of Riley Fitzsimmons (Avoca Beach), Murray Stewart (North Steyne), Lachlan Tame (Avoca Beach) and Jordan Wood (Maroochydore) finishing in sixth place.

In the women’s K4 the combination of Jo Brigden-Jones (Manly LSC), Cat McArthur (West Beach, SLSC), Shannon Reynolds (Trigg Island) and Jaime Roberts (Mullaloo) saw the group finish in seventh place.

Making history again at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics was the inclusion of the Canoe Sprint C1 and C2 events for females for the first time. Bernadette Wallace from Tugun SLSC competed in both finishing 13th in the C2 with teammate Josephine Bulmer and fourth in her quarterfinal of the C1 but did not progress to the semi-final.


Lachie Wales from Wamberal SLSC on NSW Central Coast played for the Olyroos with Lachie scoring the first goal for the Olyroos in their Olympic campaign against Argentina in Group C. They went on to win the match 2-0. The Olyroos finished twelfth at the Olympics after not having qualified for the Olympics since Beijing in 2008.

Dr Brandi Cole, a long service member from Cronulla SLSC, was also in Tokyo for the Australian Women’s Football team, as the Matildas’ team doctor. The Matildas had their best ever result at an Olympic Games, where they finished fourth in their thrilling Olympic campaign, just narrowly missing out on a Bronze medal.


A proud Collaroy SLSC member, Georgie Rowe, was part of the Australian women’s eight repechage who finished eighth in the final.

Amanda Bateman from Beaumaris LSC in Victoria, finished first in the B final of the women’s double scull and seventh overall with her teammate Tara Rigney.


Olympic debutant Brendon Smith from Half Moon Bay SLSC in Melbourne won Australia’s first medal of the Olympics when he won Bronze in the 400M Individual Medley on day two. Read more about Brendan’s performance here.

Kareena Lee from Noosa Heads SLSC on the Sunshine Coast also made history for becoming the first ever Australian to medal in the 10KM marathon swimming, winning a Bronze medal in the event.  


Emma Jeffcoat from Sydney Northern beaches Dee Why SLSC, made her Olympics debut in the Triathlon event placing 26th in the individual event and helping Australia to ninth in the mixed triathlon event. Emma, a former surf ironwoman took up the sport of triathlon six years ago with the goal of representing her country at the Olympics and Commonwealth games.

Water Polo

The Aussie women’s water polo team saw the likes of surf lifesaving members Elle Armit (Townsville Picnic Bay SLSC), Rowie Webster (Angelsea SLSC) and Amy Ridge (Bronte SLSC) line up with the Stingers to finish fifth, a place better than the team performed in Rio 2016.

The Men’s team had five clubbies who helped the ‘The Sharks’ to two wins in their preliminary rounds. Four members from Bondi SBLSC Tim Putt, George Ford, Andrew Ford and Richie Campbell as well as Blake Edwards from Point Leo SLSC played a vital role in the ‘Sharks’ success at Tokyo 2020.


List of athletes who competed at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics 


Ellie Beer – Currumbin SLSC 

Oliver Hoare – North Cronulla SLSC 

Canoe Sprint 

Tom Green – Currumbin SLSC 

Riley Fitzsimmons – Avoca Beach SLSC 

Lachlan Tame – Avoca Beach SLSC 

Jordan Wood – Maroochydore SLSC 

Murray Stewart – North Steyne SLSC 

Aly Bull – Alexandra Headland SLSC 

Alyce Wood – Maroochydore SLSC 

Jaime Roberts – Mullaloo & Northcliffe SLSC 

Cat McArthur – West Beach SLSC 

Shannon Reynolds – Trigg Island SLSC 

Jo Brigden-Jones – Manly LSC 

Bernadette Wallace – Tugun SLSC 


Lachie Wales – Wamberal SLSC 


Georgie Rowe – Collaroy SLSC 

Amanda Bateman – Beaumaris LSC 


Brendon Smith – Half Moon Bay SLSC 

Kareena Lee – Noosa Heads SLSC  


Emma Jeffcoat – Dee Why SLSC 

Water Polo  

Elle Armit – Townsville/Picnic Bay SLSC 

Rowie Webster – Anglesea SLSC 

Amy Ridge – Bronte SLSC 

Blake Edwards – Point Leo SLSC 

Tim Putt – Bondi SBLSC

George Ford – Bondi SBLSC 

Andrew Ford – Bondi SBLSC

Richie Campbell – Bondi SBLSC